Free Case Review »
24 hours / 7 days a week
877.667.4265

North Carolina Wage and Hour Law

North Carolina Wage and Hour Law

Minimum Wage in North Carolina

Workers in North Carolina must receive at least $7.25 per hour. The North Carolina minimum wage is the same as the federal rate.

Overtime Law in North Carolina

North Carolina overtime law states that workers ages 18 and older can be required to work as many hours as the company needs. However, North Carolina overtime law requires the employer to pay the worker at least the minimum wage or promised wages, whichever is greater, and pay overtime compensation (1.5 times the worker's regular rate) for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek, unless the worker is exempt from overtime pay. For more information on overtime law in North Carolina, visit the website of the NC Dept. of Labor.

Employer Recordkeeping Requirements

North Carolina employers must provide an itemized list of deductions along with every worker's paycheck. Employers are not obligated to include the worker's rate of pay or total hours worked on the pay stub.

Final Wages

North Carolina employees must receive their final wages by the next regularly scheduled pay period. The employer can pay an employee's final wages before this date, but they have to right to wait until the next payday to pay the worker.

For more information, view the North Carolina Department of Labor Website

Overtime Lawyers
Free Case Evaluation
Fill out this form for a FREE, Immediate, Case Evaluation

By submitting this form I agree to the Terms of Use